English 15: Rhetoric and Composition

Section 229, Summer 2019. LEAP Pride Mass Media, Nittany

Course Schedule with Assignment Due Dates | Course Description & Requirements | PolicY Statements | Assignments

Course Schedule with Assignment Due Dates

Jun 26 (Wed): Course Introduction

Jun 27 (Thu): Assignment Intro: Rhetorical Analysis – Essay

Links from Class:
NYC Transit program urges safety when playing Pokémon Go
Star Wars: The Force Awakens Official Teaser
Amazon.com: Coexist Bumper Sticker, Peacemonger
NRA: A Free People Must Coexist

Jun 28 (Fri): What is Rhetoric?

Submit A1 Planning Worksheet (Rhetorical Analysis Essay)
Read NFG p. 55 - 70, Rhetorical Situations.

Jul 1 (Mon): Performing a Rhetorical Analysis

Submit Short Response 1 (Writing Rules)
Read NFG p. 94 - 111, Analyzing Texts.
Links from Class:
YouTube.com: Obama’s art history comment

Jul 2 (Tue): Unlearn What You Have Learned: Rules and Breaking Rules

Read NFG p. 111 - 128, Analyzing Texts.

Jul 3 (Wed): Peer Review, Rhetorical Analysis Essay (Read Aloud)

Submit A1 Rough Draft (Rhetorical Analysis Essay)

Jul 4 (Thu): Independence Day – No Class

Jul 5 (Fri): Grading Workshop and Example Review: Rhetorical Analysis Essay

Read PS p. 7 - 8, "PWR Grading Standards";
PS p. 11 - 14, "Analysis Essays: Introduction";
PS p. 15 - 17, "The Bombs and Papers of Persuasion," by Masen Nartatez; and
PS p. 20 - 22 "Lori Andrews on the Dangers of Data Aggregation," by Jackson Ambrovich.
Links from Class:
Williams, Joseph M. Style: Toward Clarity and Grace. Paperback ed., The University of Chicago Press, 1995 (Amazon.com link)
Hardwick, Chris. Typewriter-o-Gram. 9 July 2012, nerdist.com.
Hanks, Tom. Just Who Do You Think You Are, 13 July 2012. reddit.com.

Jul 8 (Mon): Epilogue: The Rhetorical Appeals

Submit A1 Final Draft (Rhetorical Analysis Essay)
Some links related to the rhetorical analysis assignment options:

Links from Class:

Jul 9 (Tue): Assignment Intro: Position Argument – Editorial

Read NFG p. 156 - 182, Arguing a Position.

Jul 10 (Wed): Incorporating Sources

Submit A2 Planning Worksheet (Position Argument Editorial)

Jul 11 (Thu): Arguing

Read NFG p. 355 - 373, Arguing.

Jul 12 (Fri): Close Reading: Facebook: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Submit Short Response 2 (Prompt TBD)
Watch Facebook: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (HBO)

Jul 15 (Mon): Close Reading: "Letter from Birmingham Jail"

Read Canvas, "Letter from Birmingham Jail" packet, by Martin Luther King, Jr.

Jul 16 (Tue): Peer Review, Position Argument Editorial (Read/Write Intensive)

Submit A2 Rough Draft (Position Argument Editorial)

Jul 17 (Wed): Epilogue: Back to the Future, Technology Writing of the 1980s and 1990s

Jul 18 (Thu): Assignment Intro: Evaluation Argument – Film Review

Submit A2 Final Draft (Position Argument Editorial)
Read NFG p. 197 - 205.

Jul 19 (Fri): How to Write About Films

Submit A3 Planning Worksheet (Evaluation Argument - Film Review)
Read Canvas, "Living through something: Lady Bird, Call Me By Your Name, and storytelling in Coming-of-Age films," by Deany Cheng.

Links from Class:

Jul 22 (Mon): Mid-Session Break - No Class

Jul 23 (Tue): Grading Workshop and Example Review: Evaluation Argument

Read PS p. 77 - 79, Evaluation and Process Essays: Introduction;
Canvas, “Free Solo," by Glenn Kenny; and
Canvas, "‘Captain Marvel’ Review: Brie Larson Takes on Cosmic Villains, Sexist Trolls — and Wins," by Peter Travers.

Jul 24 (Wed): Raves and Rants: Evaluations at the Poles

Submit Short Response 3 (Prompt TBD)

Jul 25 (Thu): Peer Review, Evaluation Argument (Flash Peer Review)

Submit A3 Rough Draft (Evaluation Argument - Film Review)

Jul 26 (Fri): Epilogue: Let's Read Some Comics

Submit A3 Final Draft (Evaluation Argument - Film Review)

 

Jul 29 (Mon): Assignment Intro: Memoir Podcast

Read NFG p. 216 - 223

Jul 30 (Tue): Library Instruction Session: Garage Band

Meet in Pattee W140.
Submit A4: Memoir Podcast (Planning Worksheet)

Jul 31 (Wed): Close Reading: "I Will Forever Remain Faithful: How Lil Wayne Helped Me Survive My First Year Teaching in New Orleans," by David Ramsey

Read NFG p. 965 - 975, "I Will Forever Remain Faithful: How Lil Wayne Helped Me Survive My First Year Teaching in New Orleans," by David Ramsey.

Aug 1 (Thu): Close Reading: Bullseye's "The Outshot: Norm Macdonald at the Bob Saget roast," by Jesse Thorn

Submit Short Response 4 (Prompt TBD)
Listen to Bullseye - Norm Macdonald at the Bob Saget roast

Aug 2 (Fri): Peer Review, Memoir Podcast Script

Submit A4: Memoir Podcast (Script)

Aug 5 (Mon): Grading Workshop and Example Review: Memoir

Read PS p. 61 - 63, "Narrative Essays: Introduction, Common Issues, & Questions";
Read PS p. 69, "My Wake Up Call," by Justin Chiong
Listen to “My Wake Up Call” podcast by Justin Chiong
PS p. 71 - 73, "The Forever Cabin," by Ridge Bachman.

Aug 6 (Tue): Peer Review: Memoir Podcast

Submit A4: Memoir Podcast (Rough Draft)

Aug 7 (Wed): Course Wrap-Up

Submit A4: Memoir Podcast (Final Draft)